66th Annual Convention

SDCCW 66th Annual Convention
June 13, 14, 2016 —  St Joseph Hayward

The Superior Diocesan Council of Catholic Women held its 66th Annual Convention on June 13-14, 2016 at St. Joseph Parish, Hayward, WI

The event began with the annual board meeting on Monday afternoon.  Barbara Gagliardi of St. Patrick parish Hudson was elected President; Karen Firnstahl of Holy Rosary Parish Medford was elected  President Elect; and Mary Arnold of St. John the Baptist Prentice was elected Recording Secretary.  Sharon Thomas continues as Treasurer.


The banquet was held at the Flatcreek Inn and Eatery with a delicious meal served to thirty-seven attending.  Entertainment was provided by the Ukuladies.
Convention Day began with hospitality served by the women of St Joseph’s Parish.  The women provided delicious food in addition to fresh flowers at all locations.  We were welcomed to Hayward by Thomas Duffy, Sawyer County Board Chair.  We were welcomed to St Joseph’s by Darlyne Carson.

Convention Keynote Speaker:
Very Rev. Joseph Rodrigues SDS
“Women Called to be the Voice of Mercy and Compassion”

Fr. Joe provided us with an uplifting presentation combined with humor, song and visual aid.

Fr. Joe has recorded music CDs of contemporary inspirational musicfor all ages, Chorus of Faith, Sing Divine Fire, Desert Rain, and The Spirit of Christmas.  He is in the process of recording a commemorative CD, Mission of Mercy, to celebrate 125 years of the Salvatorian mission in the USA. The CDs are fundraisers for Salvatorian outreach ministries.

Mass was celebrated by Rev. Gerard Willger, Rev, Michael Hayden, and Very Rev. Joseph Rodrigues.  Bishop Powers was at the annual USCCB conference in Washington, DC and was unable to be with us.

Four Ojibwe tribe members “signed” a prayer that was read by Sr. Felissa Zander, SSSF of St. Francis Solanus Catholic School.

Rev. Willger presented the Bishop’s Pax Christi award to Mary Agnes (Rueille) Brand from St. Anthony parish, Gordon.
Conv6Pictured with Rev. Willger are left to right: Katie Zenner, Holy Rosary Parish Medford, South Central Deanery; Mary Agnes Brand/ St. Anthony Gordon, Northwest Deanery, and Nancy Walz, St Patrick Hudson, Southwest Deanery.

Conv9Mary Werner, SDCCW Scholarship Chair announced the winners of the two Mary Jane Morancyk Hennessy Scholarships. Accepting her award was Michelle Rochel, Assumption of the BVM, East Farmington. Unable to attend was Brittnee Zuck, Our Lady of Sorrows, Ladysmith.

The 2016-2018 officers of the Superior Diocesan Council of Catholic Women were installed by Rev. Willger.Conv19 Left to right: Sharon Thomas, Treasurer; Mary Arnold, Secretary; Gayle Johnson, Diretor at Large, Karen Firnstahl, President Elect; and Barbara Gagliardi, President.

Conv4In the afternoon, Fr. Rodrigues continued with a presentation titled “Love’s Divine Revenge:  aka Myths that Prevent us from Healing”

%d bloggers like this: